in Magento Themes by
Hi There

just been trying out TT and it's pretty good, so far the only software I have found to create a template for Magento.
the docs for installation fo the theme are a little bare, and I'm not an expert with Magento,

so let me get this straight

1.you export as a .zip
2.you upload that zip to your root dir
3.decompress
4.leave the files as they are or move them into place to replace existing directories? app, skin ?

I have another template I want to keep running too is that possible?
I tried to select my new theme using the admin area of Magento by filling in the blank areas of the design page with the name of my new template and my CSS has broken

Not sure how to go back...help please ?

I'm working locally so no site to show, sorry
Thanks for your time

H

6 Answers

by
OK I got my site back, I took a copy of the site files and it returned to normal once I reinstalled my copy.
But, I'm still a bit in the dark...

I think the name of the file is important , no spaces.......
I didn't really think about that when I created it in TT, but on export it's important that the name is web friendly right?
otherwise the template will just break
by 2ninerniner2 (1.2k points)
When ever doing anything that is somehow eventually going to end up on the web, and especially served up by a Linux-based server (which the vast majority of them use), the rules of thumb are:

1) lower case ONLY
2) NO spaces; use an underscore if you need to separate terms

The reason being is that Linux is case-sensitive and that to Linux, the following are completely discreet entities:

My Cool Pic.jpg
my cool pic.jpg
My Cool Pic.jpg
my_cool_pic.jpg (this is the preferred method)

If you have ever noticed, in a URL the %20 characters between "words", that is the ASCII code for a space :)
by
Thanks for your reply