in General Discussion by
Hey guys, I have a couple of questions that I would appreciate some help with.

I have been doing some web design on and off since I was like 15 years old (I'm 27 now) and I've always been self-taught and I originally started with Microsoft Frontpage. I eventually tried Dreamweaver but I didn't really like it (probably because I didn't really know what I was doing) and now I'm looking to increase my web design knowledge and move on to a more up to date platform.

I have been using Artisteer 3.1 for a while and I am considering switching to TT. A few of my friends recommended your program and told me it would be a better option for a beginner like me because you guys have really good support.

That being said, I'm basically looking to buy your product to design and edit Joomla or WordPress templates which brings me to my next question.

The big question.... JOOMLA vs WORDPRESS.... What exactly are the pros and cons of each and which one should I invest my time in learning? Let me describe my goals with learning one of these platforms so maybe you guys could give me some tips.

I plan on designing bilingual sites for small business where I live (Costa Rica) and I would like to design sites where my clients could enter and edit the information so they don't have to constantly call me every time they want to change something.

I have designed a couple of static HTML sites but I would really prefer to learn one of these CMS platforms to make my life easier in the future especially once I get a solid customer base.

So, based on what I have told you guys. Which platform would suit my needs as a designer?

Thanks a lot guys, I look forward to your answers and appreciate the help.

P.S. Are you guys planning on having a Black Friday or Christmas sale for TT? :D

5 Answers

by templatetoaster (24.8k points)